Ubuntu 12.04 – Dell Vostro 3750 – No Sound When Headphones are Plugged in


** This workaround did work for me for a while – I have now had to implement a new workaround to fix the issue now that it had resurfaced again. See this post for details. **

Having just installed Ubuntu 12.04 (Precise Pangolin) on my Dell Vostro 3750 I noticed that there was no sound when I plugged in my headphones.

The workaround was to edit /usr/share/pulseaudio/alsa-mixer/paths/analog-output-headphones.conf.

Update: Since implementing this workaround I have found that updates have reverted the changes that I made to analog-output-headphones.conf. So I recommend making a backup of the original file, then making changes to analog-output-headphones.conf and then backing up the changed file.

Open the terminal and enter the following commands:

cd /usr/share/pulseaudio/alsa-mixer/paths/
sudo cp analog-output-headphones.conf analog-output-headphones.bak
sudo nano analog-output-headphones.conf

Look for the section called [Element Speaker] and change it so that it looks like this:

[Element Speaker]
switch = on
volume = ignore

Create a backup of the corrected analog-output-headphones.conf:

sudo cp analog-output-headphones.conf analog-output-headphones.fixed

Save the changes and then reboot.

After rebooting I found that I needed to remove my headphones and then insert the jack again to get them to work. Once they were working I could remove and insert the headphones jack and the behaviour was as expected.

With my configuration files backed up I can now easily revert to the original settings should I need to in the future or copy the fixed settings back if the settings are lost.

Source: bugs.launchpad.net

Credit to Ryan (bovorasr) for the workaround.

21 thoughts on “Ubuntu 12.04 – Dell Vostro 3750 – No Sound When Headphones are Plugged in

  1. Many thanks, very useful. It worked perfectly on my Vostro 3750 by using the command “gksudo gedit” for editing and saving the file.

  2. Thanks, just what I was looking for. Got tired of opening ALSA Mixer every time I used my headphones. Nice work.

  3. Thank you so much for this. I have Linux Mint 12 on an MSI CR400, and it all used to work for several days before the headphones suddenly went silent. This one fixed it! Thanks!

  4. humm… wierd that it worked for all of you and not for me..

    this line sould read: sudo nano analog-output-headphones.conf (remove the /paths/)
    since we already moved in the folder with cd /usr/share/pulseaudio/alsa-mixer/paths/

    following your procedure nano opened a blank file.. but thank for the GREAT pointer 😉 I got my bubble back!

  5. Thanks, dude! Had just about given up on the headphone jack. Works great on a Cedar Rock mobo w/ Via VT1705 codec under Arch Linux.

  6. I have the same exact issue. The only thing is, my host device is Mac M1. When I open alsamixer to fix the issue from there, I CANNOT find HP/Speaker Auto-Direct.

    When I hit tab for so many times, I only get: Master, CPM and Capture, NOTHING more.

    Anther thing, I don’t understand how to use F6 there. For example, when I hit F6 (that is, among the first set of keys between esc and power button on my Mac, I get Mac response, NOT alsamixer in Ubuntu. So, I tried the regular keys hitting F and 6 together and I am NOT sure what happened. Please help!

Leave a comment