xbmc – Workaround for Lock Settings While Browsing Network Shares


Up until a few days ago I was happily adding sources for media to my xbmc installation.

All of a sudden I was prompted for my password (which I entered correctly) but I was not able to browse shares on my Windows Home Server. Rather I was stuck on a Lock Settings screen that asked for my credentials.

I found that I could manually specify the Windows share to get things working. For example to add a source for the Photos folder on my WHS box I entered the following:

smb://whs/photos

I could equally have entered the IP address of my WHS box instead of the hostname and that would have worked too.

So it is not a huge deal, because it is easy to work around, but it does mean that I have to get up off the sofa to type in the path (and that’s probably not a bad thing)!

One thought on “xbmc – Workaround for Lock Settings While Browsing Network Shares

  1. Thanks for the suggestion. The IP address method worked for me to access the network storage from my router. The problem was isolated to my RaspBMC. My other xbmc machines (OS X and Win 7) worked without need for adjustment. The problem manifested after editing the ‘share settings’ on my router for the network storage.

Leave a Reply

