Ubuntu 12.04 – Dell Vostro 3750 – No Sound When Headphones are Plugged in (Fixed)


Since installing Ubuntu 12.04 on my Dell Vostro 3750 I have had issues with no sound coming through my headphones.

I thought that I had resolved the issue in a previous blog post but recently the problem has resurfaced. I tired reverting to my original /usr/share/pulseaudio/alsa-mixer/paths/analog-output-headphones.conf file but this did not work.

It might have some bearing on the issue that I am dual booting with Windows 7 – but I am not sure that this is necessarily the problem.

When I run alsamixer (from the terminal) my speaker volume becomes muted when I plug in my headphones.

The headphone column state does not change at all.

My first stop when looking at this issue again was the Ubuntu Sound Troubleshooting Page. I looked at a few items after step 9 but I tried evrything up to step 9 to no avail. I mention this as I do not know if these steps impacted the current fix that I am using.

This bug report contains the fix that currently works for me. Open a Terminal and issue the following commands:

sudo nano /usr/share/pulseaudio/alsa-mixer/paths/analog-output-
headphones.conf

Comment out the following line as shown:

[Jack_InputDevice]
#required-any = any

Save the file and then issue this command to restart pulseaudio:

pulseaudio -k

So far I have had no issues with this fix and I have rebooted and plugged and un-plugged my headphones – sound switches between the headphones and speaker just fine again.

3 thoughts on “Ubuntu 12.04 – Dell Vostro 3750 – No Sound When Headphones are Plugged in (Fixed)

Leave a Reply

