Windows Phone 8.1 Update 1 – 0x80188308 Error


Unfortunately I have been experiencing the following error on my Lumia 520 trying to update to Windows Phone 8.1 Update 1:

Can't update phone

It's a probably a temporary problem. To try again, go to Settings > Phone Update. (0x80188308).

I haven’t seen any resolution to this issue so far as so I decided to simply back up my data and then do a hard reset:

  • From the Start Screen swipe down and tap All Settings. Scroll down and then tap About and then tap reset your phone and follow the prompts.

After the reset log into the Preview for Developers and then go to All Settings, Phone update and Check for Updates.

After this I found that Update 1 installed correctly – current OS version: 8.10.14157.200.


Note: Off the top of my head I don’t recall how much phone storage is required to complete an update but I had over 3.5 Gb available after the update was complete.

6 thoughts on “Windows Phone 8.1 Update 1 – 0x80188308 Error

  1. @joebelfiore
    ‘Still working on the “low storage” install prob 80188308. Note, this is NOT user storage you can clear- it’s install partition. Sit tight.’

  2. I’m receiving The same error on Samsung Ativ S. I would try a hard reset, but I’m concerned I might lose app data, app settings and game progress (e.g.My Talking Tom). Do you know if backup / restore preserves app data and game progress after hard reset?

    1. I did not have much data to restore – and for me some of the apps themselves took care of that with their own facility to back up data / settings (independent from the phone backup), so I didn’t really loose anything. I don’t really play games on my phone so I cannot advise you much on that.

Leave a Reply

