Display Driver Stopped Responding and has Recovered – Dell Vostro 3750 – Windows 8.1 x64

Windows 8 Logo

Since updating to Windows 8.1 x64 I have encountered the following problem when my laptop wakes from sleep – my screen would be black for a couple of seconds – then I would get this notification: Display driver stopped responding and has recovered.

This is the error in Event Viewer:

Display driver error in Event Viewer

Given that this was not an issue before updating to Windows 8.1 I started looking for alternative drivers to install.

I was unable to install the new Intel Windows 8.1 Beta driver because my ‘legacy’ hardware is no longer supported. After trying a different Intel driver I headed over to the Dell website and downloaded the two most recent Windows 8 x64 Intel Video drivers. The one that worked for me is here: http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/04/DriverDetails?driverId=T4PKN

If you are also experiencing this issue I would recommend simply downloading the Windows 8 drivers from your manufacturers website.

4 thoughts on “Display Driver Stopped Responding and has Recovered – Dell Vostro 3750 – Windows 8.1 x64

  1. Hey I also have dell vostro 3750. Recently I also upgraded to Windows 8.1 but I was having many issues with it. Which drivers did you installed after upgrading to Windows 8.1. I was having a serious issue with my Dell bt travel mouse, I cannot connect it to my laptop after upgrading to Windows 8.1.
    Please tell me which drivers to install so that my laptop will work perfectly with Windows 8.1.

  2. When Windows 8.1 first became available in the Windows Store, I updated my Vostro 3750 and that was the biggest mistake I’d made. Everything was working perfect until Windows 8.1 was updated. Lots of issues including USB 3.0 issues with external hard drive which keeps disconnecting & reconnecting very frequently causing massive annoyance because Windows Explorer would open every time the drive gets reconnected, & also third party software malfunctioning even after updating to their latest versions that support Win 8.1. The worst thing is if you dislike Win 8.1, you CANNOT refresh PC nor restore back to Win 8 with a system image! You’ll get error messages or missing files alerts & won’t continue further. Stuck in Win 8.1 for sure!

    So if you are thinking of going back to Win 8, you’ll need your Win 8 product key & a copy of Win 8 install media. You’ll need to reinstall Win 8, then use the restore system image function in Win 8 environment to restore to it’s previous state.

    So be aware!

    1. Other than the display driver issue addressed in this post I have not had any issues with Windows 8.1 on my Vostro 3750. Sorry that you have had such a hard time …

Leave a Reply

