Windows – Convert YouTube Videos for the PSP using Handbrake


Windows 8 Logo

I recently dusted off my old Play Station Portable (PSP) because I wanted to watch some YouTube videos on it.

On my PC I used the Download Flash and Video Firefox extension to download 360p .mp4 videos from YouTube but when I opened Handbrake to convert my videos I found that there is was longer a PSP profile available.

The Handbrake settings that I used are as follows:

First select the Universal profile and then make these changes under Output Settings:

  • set Anamorphic to None
  • set the Width to 480
  • check the Keep Aspect Ratio check-box.

HandBrake_psp_output_settings

Note: Even though the Container is set to Mp4 the Destination File extension is set to .m4v. Change the Destination File extension to .mp4.

Click on the Video tab and then click the Avg Bitrate (kbps) radio button.

  • set the Avg Bitrate to 768.

HandBrake_psp_quality_settings

If you end up with a .m4v video when the conversion is complete you can simply change the extension to .mp4 before transferring it to your PSP.

Source: http://www.maximumpc.com/article/features/handbrake

One thought on “Windows – Convert YouTube Videos for the PSP using Handbrake

Leave a Reply

