Windows Experience Index: Could not measure video playback performance


Windows 8 Logo

The Windows Experience Index (WEI) provides a benchmark of the major components in your computer.

I recently tried to run WEI on a clean install of Windows 8 because I had just installed my first Solid State Drive (SSD) and was curious to see how it compared to a regular Hard Drive.

Unfortunately I ran into the following error: Could not measure video playback performance.

The video files that WEI uses to measure playback are in the C:\WINDOWS\Performance\WinSAT folder.

The problem for me was that Windows Media Player (WMP) had not been run and set-up yet.

Once I had run WMP I made sure that the video files in the WinSAT folder all opened with WMP – and after this WEI completed without issue.

For the record I did not have any codecs installed on my system – but I did have VLC Player installed. Updating my video drivers did not make any difference to whether WEI completed or not on my computer – your mileage may vary!

If this does not fix your issue I recommend that you look here.

One thought on “Windows Experience Index: Could not measure video playback performance

  1. I had the same problem in windows 8, the video files in the winsat folder were opening in “Video” app by default, I changed the default program to windows media player and it worked for me. Just thought it was worth mentioning as it might come in handy for someone else as well.

Leave a Reply

