Ubuntu 10.4 Lucid – Viewnior, A Fast and Lightweight Image Viewer


The default image viewer in Ubuntu is a little slow for my liking but I quickly found a faster alternative in Viewnior. In Lucid just enter the following in the terminal to install it:

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:xsisqox/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install viewnior

Once it is installed just right click on an image, select Open With from the menu and then select Viewnior as the default application.

Alternatively you can open Viewnior by clicking Applications, Graphics and Viewnior.

Viewnior is a great alternative to Irfanview which I have installed on my Windows box.

4 thoughts on “Ubuntu 10.4 Lucid – Viewnior, A Fast and Lightweight Image Viewer

  1. Great post! I stumbled on your website while looking for WHS and AFD info. I have been looking for an app like this as I miss the speed that Irfanview peforms on Windows, when using my Linux box

  2. I must be one of the few people who have had a bad experience with WHS and AF drives … are you going to take the plunge and use AF drives with WHS Michael?

    I find that ViewNior handles larger files faster than the default image app in Ubuntu – but if anyone made Irfanview for Linux that would be cool too!

Leave a Reply

