Ubuntu 10.4 Lucid – Using Phatch to Batch Rename Photos Using EXIF Data


Up until now I have been renaming photos from my digital camera on Windows 7 with a great little application called NameExif. With a handful of clicks I could add the date and time to all my photos from their EXIF data.

In Ubuntu I found that Phatch was a suitable equivalent (although it will do a lot more than just rename files if you want it to).

Phatch is installed as follows:

sudo apt-get install phatch

To run Phatch click Applications, Graphics and then Phatch.

To create a new profile in Phatch I clicked the add button and then selected the Rename preset. Then I just selected the year-month-day-hour-minute-second preset from the File Name drop down menu. Then I simply added <filename> at the end to get the exact configuration that I wanted and saved the profile for future use.

One thought on “Ubuntu 10.4 Lucid – Using Phatch to Batch Rename Photos Using EXIF Data

  1. Looks like the developers of Phatch have kept working on this little tool. It works great for me on Ubuntu 10.10 – thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

