Ubuntu 10.4 Lucid – Blogging with BloGTK 2.0

I just wanted to put together a quick blog post using BloGTK 2.0 to see what it was like. I had already tried Windows Live Writer on Windows 7 (but not the 2011 version) and found that it worked pretty well. So how does blogging with BloGTK measure up?

Installing BloGTK was simple – just add the PPA (Personal Package Archive) to your repositories, then update and install as follows:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:jayreding/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install blogtk

To run BloGTK click Applications and then Internet and you should see it in the list.

The first thing BloGTK will want to do is connect to your blogging service. This is fairly straight-forward, although I did need to click on the Autodetect Settings button (once I had all my information typed in) to get it to work.

After that BloGTK will pull down your most recent blog posts into the main page and you can start blogging.

At the moment the toolbar is a little sparse, and there were no tool-tips either:

Two of the features that I use the most when blogging are not there – code and inserting media. Otherwise BloGTK pulled my categories down from WordPress but not my tags.

I hope to see more development of this software in terms of features as I quite like the idea of writing off-line and having a local copy of my blog posts. For now though, I don’t see myself using it too much.

When I get time I might take a quick look at the ScribeFire add-on for Firefox to see what that is like …

Leave a Reply

