Ubuntu 10.4 Lucid – Kdenlive ‘Not Connected’ Error In Record Monitor

Keen to try editing HD video from my Canon HV30 on Ubuntu I installed Kdenlive.

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install kdenlive

That was the easy bit, as when I hooked up my camcorder and clicked on the Kdenlive record monitor I got a ‘not connected’ message.

So I followed the advice on the Kdenlive site for troubleshooting Firewire capture:

lsmod | egrep 'firewire|1394'

The output of this command showed that I had the old Firewire stack compiled in my kernel. And so the troubleshooting began – the first step being to make sure that the correct modules were loaded at boot by editing the /etc/modules file:

sudo gedit /etc/modules

Simply add the following lines to modules and then save the file:


Alas the problem still was not fixed. So I took a look at /dev/raw1394 and saw that only the root and video users had permissions to this resource. So I added myself to the video users group:

sudo adduser  <username> video

I rebooted for good measure and found that I had made progress – but now the record monitor just said ‘initializing’ but did not progress any further.

Thankfully this was easily solved by configuring Kdenlive properly for my camcorder. I simply had to tell Kdenlive that my capture format was High Definition Video (HDV).

Bring up the configuration window by clicking the spanner icon in the record monitor box. Click the Capture icon in the left panel and then select HDV as the capture format in the drop-down menu.

Click OK to continue and then restart Kdenlive!

As you can see I can now control and see footage on my HD Camcorder with Kdenlive – now to start editing some video (at last)!

Leave a Reply

