Ubuntu 10.4 Lucid – Windows 7 Theme

Update: The links on this post are no longer working. I haven’t had a chance to test this one out but I would try this instead: http://gnome-look.org/content/show.php/Win2-7+Pack?content=113264

My daily visit to Slashdot brought me a rather nice Windows 7 theme for Ubuntu 10.4 today.

I certainly wouldn’t say that I disliked the new Ubuntu Gnome theme for 10.4 but I happen to like the Windows 7 theme quite a lot. For some people I am sure that putting the Windows 7 theme on Ubuntu is blasphemy – so let’s put this in perspective – it’s just a desktop theme!

As you can see it looks pretty similar to the Windows 7 desktop. The ‘Show Desktop’ button at the bottom right is a little more prominent and the font for the date and time is bolder and wider. The ‘Action Center’ icon reveals a messaging menu for Pidgin and Mail.

The Start Menu looks quite nice and is well organized with the Ubuntu menus collapsed into one, so to speak.

Installing the theme is straightforward. First open the Terminal as follows, click Applications, then Accessories and then Terminal.

Download the theme with the following command:

wget http://lite.fr.nf./r-f

This will download a file called Win2-7Pack_v5.8_Multilang_Aero.

To make the file easier to extract we are going to rename it (so that it does not have a colon in it):

mv Win2-7Pack_v5.8_Multilang_Aero Win7_Theme.tar.lzma

Next extract the file:

tar -xvf Win7_Theme.tar.lzma

You should now see a folder called Win2-7Pack_v5.8_Multilang_Aero.

To install the theme simply change directory and run the GUIInstall.sh script:

cd Win2-7Pack_v5.8_Multilang_Aero

You will be able to choose between a basic or advanced installer. I chose the advanced one to see all of the options available. I chose not to install Compiz or Wine but otherwise selected all of the installation components. After that I accepted the defaults except for the Wallpaper (where I selected the ‘un-branded’ option) and the Browser (where I selected Firefox).

Overall I think that this theme looks really nice – the transparent borders and blue theme are just what the Doctor ordered.

Source: Linuxtrends

10 thoughts on “Ubuntu 10.4 Lucid – Windows 7 Theme

  1. It seems like you like windows and can not get away from it. There are so much themes for Ubuntu that all MS windows added up will not come close. Oh Ya they are all free. You could down load from your Ubuntu. Windows 7 is rubbish

    1. I happily use Windows or Ubuntu depending on which best suits my needs. There are things that Windows offers me that Ubuntu does not so I don’t see why I should try to “get away from it”? You may not like it but I am happy to actually pay for some of the features that the Windows ecosystem offers me. If and when these features are offered by the open source community I will happily evaluate them – the theme that I choose to use is neither here nor there in the grand scheme of things.

    2. It seems your intentions are well noted about windows. I myself love UBUNTU or MINT. However I will go to the ends of the Earth to get others to use Linux. If a win7 theme that works good on UBUNTU or any other version of Linux is available for distribution and will make the transition to Linux easier for Windows users, then so be it. PS., The reason most people use Windows is their not to brite. think of it as a lesson of humility. An interesting thought (trying to teach others can be like competing against elevator music)The mind wanders when trying to learn new things even the simplest.

  2. Why are we trying to make Ubuntu look like Windows, kind of defeats the purpose of Linux doesn’t it? Not really, interesting idea, but I really don’t like windows 7 and I am sure I am not alone.

    1. I don’t think it defeats the purpose of linux, but I sort of don’t see the point either. It may look like windoze, but don’t forget it’s still the same beautiful linux underneath :p A theme is pure cosmetics after all. It may actually help some more hardened windows users to try out linux and make it seem more accessible to them.
      It’s definitely not for me though :p

  3. Windows 7 is good, but I would never take it to my ubuntu, which is hundred times better than Windows. I don’t like LinuxMint just because its interface is just a duplicate of Windows.

  4. I like that there are people out there that are willing to spend time to design a theme like this. I have an internet cafe and I’m running Ubuntu on the clients. However, my customers are not comfortable with the GUI of the OS. Therefore, implementing a theme that resembles Windows is good business for me. On the other hand, I prefer Linux because of its speed and virus-free environment.

Leave a Reply

