Windows Home Server – Windows 8 (VMware) Backup and Restore


Now that I have been playing around with Windows 8 (Release Preview) for a while I was curious to see if I could install the Windows Home Server (WHS) Connector Software and perform a backup and restore.

As you can see I was able to backup my VMware Windows 8 virtual machine (VM) just fine. Similarly I did not have any issues restoring it to a new VM either.

I do not have a spare physical machine for testing though and I have read that WHS does not support restoring to a machine that boots with UEFI.

Apart from this – and the potential for driver issues during restore (for networking or storage) – I hope to be able to continue to use the WHS backup and restore feature for Windows 8. I would much prefer to be able to do this for physical rather than just virtual machines though …

Leave a Reply

