xbmc – 100% CPU Usage in VMware vSphere 4.x


I installed xbmc (eden) in VMware vSphere this evening to try to learn how to configure my HDHomeRun, so that I can record TV shows on my HTPC.

I found however that xbmc.bin was using almost 100% CPU after installation.

The solution was to edit home/.xbmc/userdata/advancedsettings.xml and add the following:

<gui>
<algorithmdirtyregions>1</algorithmdirtyregions>
<nofliptimeout>0</nofliptimeout>
</gui>

After a reboot my CPU usage was normal - hurrah!

Sources:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=126468
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Userdata

One thought on “xbmc – 100% CPU Usage in VMware vSphere 4.x

  1. Mike Post author

    Just to follow up I had to use this workaround on my physical XBMC installation after recently installing XBMCbuntu 12 (Frodo).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

